I shall stop smoking!

This is the main focus of my healthy living changes for 2011 and for the rest of my life! I previously posted the story of why I have come to this decision. I am now going to share with you some of my plan. I am officially on day 4 of my plan.

I believe a plan to stop smoking starts at the moment you think about quitting. I have heard many jokes/statements about it, like “I can quit smoking, do it all the time, until I light up the next…” or the famous “If you want to quit, just stop buying them”! I have smoked so long that I forget as to why I started, I only wish I hadn’t! I dislike it when individuals chalk stopping smoking up to an easy task. I do not know the research exactly, but I believe the habit of smoking cigarettes has got to be one of the hardest addiction to break (I will have to look this up).  I know that health care industry offers many aides to help with the task and I am thankful, because “cold turkey” is just not an option for me! I could continue to ramble on about the whole thought and process of getting to where I am at, but that may take years as it took years to get to where I am at!

What’s the plan?

I first had to stumble a few times with trying to quit! Now is the moment I make a vow within myself and truly have a desire to fight for being “smoke free”. I also have enlisted the assistance of my children and a promise to my son. I do not know if others feel as I do, but I shall never break my son’s heart now that I have the desire! I made an appointment with my doctor and researched what was available and what I have tried before. This is a part that will be different for all people. I have chosen some treatments and assistance that may not work for others and vice versa. After much discussion and planning with my doctor, I have decided to take a smoking cessation medication and enroll in hypnoses sessions/maybe acupuncture. I am on day four of my medication and have my seven day set out day (Monday 24th) to be smoke free, although, I have been informed by my doctor that I may need two weeks to break away from my cigarettes. I am focused on my task and dedicated so I shoot for Monday.

My Plan, My Medication, My life changes, My journey…

I know this is a question in the minds of many as to what I chose or will choose? First I will share with you any information I can in regards to what is out there to assist you and then I will put my progress in as well. Stopping is something you should never do alone as it is always nice to share your experiences in any transition in life, espeacially when it can be beneficial to all.

If you’re like many smokers and tobacco users, you know you should quit — you just aren’t sure how to do it.

Smoking cessation — creating a quit-smoking plan.

Creating a quit-smoking plan improves your chances of stopping for good. Having a quit-smoking plan helps you cope with the physical and emotional issues that often arise when you stop smoking, such as nicotine withdrawal and strong urges to smoke.

The longest and hardest part of the cessation is the first step…

FIRST – Deciding to quit smoking

Sure, you may be able to list plenty of reasons to stop smoking. You may be worried about the health problems related to smoking, the social stigma, the expense or the pressure from loved ones. But only you can decide when you’re ready to stop smoking. You may spend a lot of time thinking about quitting smoking before you’re ready to actually do it. If you’re thinking about quitting, go ahead and pick a specific day to quit — your quit day — and then plan for it.

Picking a quit day

Pick a specific day within the next month to quit smoking. Don’t set your quit day too far in the future, or you may find it hard to follow through. But don’t do it before you have a quit-smoking plan in place, either. Pick a random day as your quit day or pick a day that holds special meaning for you.

Preparing for quit day

There’s no easy way to quit smoking. But planning for it can help you overcome the hurdles you’re likely to face. Here are steps you can take as you prepare for your quit day:

  • Mark the day. Make a big notation of your quit day on your calendar. It’s an important day in your life, so treat it like one.
  • Talk to your health care provider. If you haven’t talked to your doctor or health care provider yet about quitting smoking, do so now. Ask about stop-smoking counseling and medications. Using either counseling or medication improves your odds of success. And combining them is even more effective. If you’ll be using the prescription medication bupropion (Zyban) or varenicline (Chantix), you must start the medication a week before your quit day to give it time to begin working.
  • Tell people. Let family, friends and co-workers know about your quit day. Make them your allies. They can provide a lot of moral support. Tell them how they can be most supportive of your effort to quit smoking.
  • Clean house. Rid your home, car, office and other places of your smoking and tobacco products. Don’t keep any cigarettes on hand “just in case” — you might not be able to resist the temptation. Also, consider getting your teeth professionally cleaned as motivation to stay quit.
  • Stock up. Have on hand items that can substitute for the cigarette you’re used to having in your mouth, such as sugarless gum, hard candy, cinnamon sticks and crunchy vegetables.
  • Join up. The more support you have, the more likely you are to stop smoking successfully. Find local quit-smoking support groups. Many hospitals and clinics offer classes or groups. You can join online quit-smoking groups or programs. You can even text message smoking cessation counselors through Smokefree.gov.
  • Reflect. If you’ve tried to quit smoking before but took it up again, think about what challenges you faced and why you started again. What worked and what didn’t? Think about what you can do differently this time. For example, make a list of your triggers and how you will deal with them.

Action guide to dealing with triggers (PDF file requiring Adobe Reader)

Handling quit day

Getting through your quit day can be emotionally and physically challenging, especially if strong tobacco cravings strike. Try these tips to help manage your quit day:

  • Don’t smoke, not even “just one.”
  • Begin using nicotine replacement therapy if you’ve chosen that method.
  • Remind yourself of your reasons to stop smoking.
  • Drink plenty of water or juice.
  • Keep physically active.
  • Avoid situations and people that trigger your urge to smoke.
  • Attend a support group, counseling session or stop-smoking class.
  • Practice stress-management and relaxation techniques.
  • Keep your hands busy by typing, writing, squeezing a ball or knitting.

Staying quit

With a quit-smoking plan to guide you, line up your resources now so that you can lean on them when you quit smoking. The more resources you have in place — support groups, nicotine replacement, medications, counseling — the more likely you are to quit and stay quit.

http://www.bing.com/health/article/mayo-127486/Smoking-cessation-Creating-a-quitsmoking-plan?q=smoking+cessation

May I just say that thus far I am not doing so well, but I know this is ok. I set my quit date and have faltered already. This journey is going to be so hard! Keep following as my journey continues and I will inform you of so much more information related to quitting.

About tcirwin3

I sit here staring at the screen – wondering... What do you want to know about me and where do I start? Who would have thought this particular question would bring me cause to ponder? I am... A mother: 3 beautiful children; Aingel 12, Hughie 9, Ruby 3; a wife( well-fiancé); a student (for many years now, but finally this is my “make it or break it” year); an employee of 3 jobs: PTC student worker, Home Health Aide, and PCA/Support Counselor for three disabled children. I have... Travelled the road less travelled by those who step lightly in life (Robert Frost wrote a great poem about it). Seen and experienced the world through many different points of view. Always remained myself, "always just me" is a common phrase I use. I do... Work and work in every aspect of my life! Very busy and very organized :) I will... Succeed to the best of my abilities in all I chance to achieve!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment